Eva Teimel © Stephan Polzer; RSO © Theresa Wey
Schönberg als Revolutionär | Schönberg as a revolutionary
Members of the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra, Eva Teimel
Lecture recital
Arnold Schönberg Center
Monday, 17 June 2024
6.30 pm
Eva Teimel © Stephan Polzer; RSO © Theresa Wey

Members of the Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra
   Raimund Weichenberger flute
   Katharina Kratochwil oboe
   Pedro Afonso Minhava Reis clarinet
   Martin Fluch Bass clarinet
   Alexandru Cozma bassoon
   Jakob Hutterer horn
   Stephanie Timoschek-Gumpinger piano
Eva Teimel presentation

Albert ROUSSEL Divertissement op. 6
Egon WELLESZ Suite op. 73
Hanns EISLER Divertimento op. 4
Pavel HAAS Bläserquintett op. 10
Arnold SCHÖNBERG Suite für Klavier op. 25: Nr. 2, 3 and 6
Leoš JANÁČEK Mládí »Jugend«

Tickets € 14 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

The wind quintet originated in the 18th century and was popular above all for arrangements of well-known melodies. Around 1920, the genre received a boost in popularity and has since been enriched by numerous works by renowned composers of the modern era. The evening spans a wide range of the repertoire and invites you to get to know music for wind instruments in all its diversity. The often classicist character of the works finds a counterpart in Schönberg’s Suite for Piano, op. 25, in which the music of Johann Sebastian Bach reverberates. As Hanns Eisler said about his teacher Schönberg: “He is the true conservative: he even created a revolution in order to be a reactionary.”

Cooperation Arnold Schönberg Center, Vienna Radio Symphony Orchestra and RadioKulturhaus
As part of the chamber music series of the RSO Vienna “Aus nächster Nähe

The concert will be broadcast on radio Ö1 on August 29, 2024 at 7:30 pm in the program “Das Ö1 Konzert”.